One of the best features of Apple devices is the availability of iCloud to store important information, such as photos, passwords, files, backups, etc. This technology makes it easier to share your captured moments with your family and friends.
While it is fun to share your captured moments online, saving photos online may put you at risk. So, it is paramount to be careful and mindful of the safety of your photos online. So far, Apple ensures that your photos on iCloud are secure because they have added layers of security to their services that hackers cannot easily hack. They use end-to-end encryption and best-in-class security technologies.
Can anyone see iCloud photos?
No, not anyone without permission could see your iCloud Photos
Your photos in iCloud are private. Due to added layer of protection set by Apple in iCloud, no one could see your photos, except if you allow them to see them. Your pictures will only be visible to others once you share them your pictures. This is made possible through iCloud File Sharing. It is as easy as clicking the invitation link you have sent to a specific person to view or edit your file.
Are photos permanently on iCloud?
Photos can be removed permanently in iCloud
Your photos in iCloud can stay there permanently. However, once you delete your photos, it is temporarily placed in the Recently Deleted folder for 30 days before being permanently deleted. Meanwhile, should you change your mind, you can opt to recover your deleted photos as long as it’s within 30 days, otherwise, it will not be possible. And if you wished to delete your photos permanently in iCloud, you can access your iCloud account in the settings of your device. In order to do permanently delete your photos:
- Go to your Apple ID in your device setting
- Click Manage Storage menu
- Tap Disable & Delete
- Click Continue Anyway once a pop-up message appears saying your photos will be permanently deleted in 30 days.
How private are iCloud photos?
Apple uses end-to-end encryption when storing your photos on iCloud
Apple ensures the safety of users’ photos saved in iCloud. Your photos are private unless you turn the public view of your iCloud URL. Apple uses end-to-end encryption, which means saving photos in iCloud are securely encrypted in transit, stored in the system in an encrypted format, and secured your encryption keys in Apple data centers.
Can someone hack my iPhone photos?
It’s possible that your iCloud account could be compromised
Apple has ensured users with best-in-class security technology against hackers. They have tested their technology to ensure that hackers or spyware will not be able to retrieve your data from the iCloud backup. However, your photos are still vulnerable to hackers, even with the best-in-class security technologies used by Apple to protect your photos. But it will not be easy for them to access your photos. There are a few easy ways to ensure the safety of your photos from these cyber-attacks:
- Turn on your two-factor authentication
- Disable Photo Sharing and Photo Stream setting
- Do not share your iCloud URL with public spaces
- Change your password regularly and do share it with anyone else.
What happens to my photos if I turn off iCloud?
Photos not taken from the device will be removed automatically
If you turn off the iCloud Photo Library, photos that were not taken from the device will be removed automatically. But, if you want to turn off your iCloud Photo Library and keep your photos, you can download your photos and save them to your local device before disabling iCloud Photo Library synchronization.
Will deleting photos from iPhone delete from iCloud?
Yes, deleting photos from iPhone will also delete them from your iCloud Photos
Deleting photos from your iPhone will also delete them from your iCloud Photos. But, if you want to keep your photos on iCloud, you can turn off iCloud photo sharing or use another cloud server to back up your photos before deleting them.
Can Apple look at your iCloud photos?
Apple has access and control to your photos using computer-based algorithm.
Apple has access to your photos. But that is to ensure images are compliant with some legal rules and do not contain inappropriate content. They are using a computer-based algorithm that scans your photos and compares them to codes that will detect any malicious or inappropriate content.
Can anyone see my deleted photos?
Nobody can see permanently deleted phots from iCloud
iCloud does not keep permanently deleted photos. Therefore, nobody can see permanently deleted phots from iCloud. It is only viewable and retrievable from the Recently Deleted folder if it is within 30 days from the day of deletion.
Can hackers recover deleted photos on iPhone?
With the sophisticated data security used by Apple, it would be hard for the hackers to access deleted photos. Apple tested their security using top spywares, but it failed to retrieve the sample photos.